3078



Senate Transportation Committee

Senator John C. Rafferty, Jr. Chairman

Nolan R. Ritchie, Assistant Executive Director

20 East Wing • State Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120 Phone: (717) 787-1398 • FAX: (717) 783-4587 015 SEP --

<u></u>

TO:

Senate Transportation Committee Members

FROM:

Senator John C. Rafferty, J.

DATE:

August 31, 2015

SUBJECT:

Proposed Rulemaking on Authorized Vehicles and Special Operating Privileges

I wanted to inform you of a correspondence that I received from the Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) dated August 20, 2015, regarding a proposed rulemaking by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) on authorized vehicles and special operating privileges.

Chapter 15 of PennDOT's regulations sets the standards for authorized vehicles and special operating privileges, and PennDOT is amending Chapter 15 by allowing the following Type I vehicles to be equipped with yellow flashing or revolving lights when the vehicle is engaged in performing work related to the protection, care and control of animals:

- Commonwealth-owned vehicles which are used by a state dog warden employed by the Department of Agriculture
- Vehicles owned by a nonprofit society or association for the prevention of cruelty to animals and used by a humane society police officer

The IRRC reviewed PennDOT's proposed regulation and they have no comments to offer. The Pennsylvania State Police also reviewed PennDOT's proposed regulation and they have no comments to offer concerning it. Finally, no comments were received from the public.

Therefore, I am not planning for the Senate Transportation Committee to take any action on PennDOT's proposed regulation, which will deem PennDOT's proposed regulation approved.

If you have any questions, please contact Nolan Ritchie at (717) 787-1398 or nritchie a pasen.gov.

cc: Honorable John J. Taylor, Republican Chairman, House Transportation Committee Honorable William F. Keller, Democratic Chairman, House Transportation Committee Honorable John F. Mizner, Esq., Chairman, Independent Regulatory Review Commission Honorable Leslie S. Richards, Secretary of Transportation Ms. Cindy Cashman, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation